### 2. <u>Particulars of its organisation, functions and duties [Section</u> <u>4(1)(b)(i)]</u>

(I). The Department of Education (S) is one of the major departments of the Government of Manipur and looks after the school education in the state. At the government level, it is led by the Hon'ble Minister of Education as the head of the administration. Shri Laishram Nandakumar Singh, IAS is the Director of the department and Shri H. Gyan Prakash, IAS as Commissioner Edu (S), Government of Manipur. The origin of the Education Department of Manipur dates back to 1903 when Rev. Pettigrew an educationist and a philanthropist became the first honorary inspector of schools under the Education Department of Assam. Prior to 1950, there was no separate Department of Education in Manipur. A separate Department of Education was created for the first time in Manipur on the 20th of January 1950 with Shri T.Kipgen as Asstt. Secretary to the Government of Manipur. He was responsible for all education policies and programs with regard to all types of schools in the hills and plains. In the year 1951-52 a new setup in the general administration of the then Union Territory of Manipur came into existence with the setting up of the Territorial Council. Till 1960 the Manipur Administration and the Territorial Council had full control over the educational activities. In 1960 when Imphal Municipality was established a part of primary education, particularly in the municipal areas was transferred to this local body.

The nomenclature and responsibilities of the Department have undergone changes from time to time. Since 01-03-1974, for the purpose of control and management, all primary schools in the hill districts of Manipur were transferred to concerned autonomous district councils. The Department of Education however retained the power of supervision and inspection, framing of curriculum and syllabi and selection of textbooks.

At present, the Education Department of Manipur has been divided into 4 (four) different entities viz.

- 1. Department of Education (University and Higher Education)
- 2. Department of Education (S)
- 3. State Council of Educational Research and Training, Government of Manipur and
- 4. Department of Adult Education.
- (II). The Directorate of Education (S), Manipur is located at Lamphelpat, Imphal West, Manipur-795004, near the office of Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West.

#### (III). Office Timings:

Summer- 09.00 a.m to 05.30 p.m

Winter- 09.00 a.m to 05.00 p.m

(IV). Name(s), Designation of the Officers at Secretariat level are as given below:

SI No.	Name	Designation
1.	H. Gyan Prakash, IAS	Commissioner Education(S), Manipur
2.	N. Bandana Devi, IAS	Additional Secretary Education(S) Manipur
3.	Hmangte Lerte Kom, MCS	Additional Secretary Education(S), Manipur
4.	Anjali Chongtham, MCS	Joint Secretary Education(S), Manipur
5.	Elangbam Sonia, MCS	Joint Secretary Education(S), Manipur
6.	Yumanm Arunkumar Singh	Under Secretary Education(S), Manipur
7.	Renuka Khumukcham, MCS	Under Secretary Education(S), Manipur

# (V). Name(s), Designation of the Officers at Directorate level are as given below:

SI No.	Name	Designation
1.	L. Nandakumar Singh, IAS	Director of Education(S)
2.	Bisheshwar Khumukcham, MCS	Additional Director of Education(S/Valley)
3.	Dangmei Manglem, MCS	Additional Director of Education(S/Hills)
4.	Soraisam David Singh, MCS	Senior Administrative Officer
5.	Sannatombee Bachaspatimayum, MFS	Chief Finance Officer
6.	Irengbam Sobhachandra Singh, MFS	Senior Finance Officer
7.	Dr. T. Geetchandra Sharma	Additional Director (Planning)
8.	G. Anita Devi	Additional Director (Grievance Cell)
9.	Smt. Ibechaobi Laishram	Senior Research Officer
10.	Tikendrajit Nepram, MES-I	Joint Director

## (VI). Name(s), Designation of the Officers at Samagra Shiksha are as given below:

SI No.	Name	Designation	
1.	L. Nandakumar Singh, IAS	State Project Director, Samagra Shiksha Manipur	
2.	Renuka Khumukcham, MCS	Additional State Project Director, Samagra Shiksha (Secondary)	
3.	Soraisam David Singh, MCS	Additional State Project Director, Samagra Shiksha (Elementary)	

### (VII). Department organisation:

The Department of Education (S) is the agency of the Government of Manipur for organising and administering all the educational activities at the school level (i.e.upto class 12) in the entire State of Manipur.

Institutions through which educational work of the Department are to be carried on in the State are as follows:

- i) Government Higher Secondary or Private recognised Hr.Sec.School.
- ii) Government High Schools, Government Aided High Schools or private recognised High School
- iii) Government Pre-Primary Schools, Government Primary Schools, Government Jr.High Schools, Government Aided Pre-Primary Schools, Government Aided Primary Schools, Government Aided Jr.High Schools, Private recognised Pre-Primary Schools, Private recognised Primary Schools, Private recognised Jr.High Schools.
- iv) Government or Government Aided or Hindi Schools which prepare candidates for such exam in Hindi as recognised by the Department.

At Directorate of Education(S), the Director of Education (S) is the Head of the said Directorate and is responsible for due discharge of the functions. The Director of Education (S) is assisted in his official work by a numbers of Addl. Director(s), Senior Administrative Officer, Joint Directors, Assistant Director (s), Chief Finance Officer, Senoir Finance Officer, Account Officer etc. and for effective supervision, inspection and control over Educational Institutions in every district or Zone, there is the Office of Zonal Education Officer headed by each Zonal Education Officer. The Zonal Education Officer is assisted by Deputy Inspector of Schools and Assistant Inspector of Schools for due discharge of the functions.